BOOK REVIEW: KINGDOM OF THE BLAZING PHOENIX BY JULIE C. DAO + GIVEAWAY

Kotbp Banner.jpg


KINGDOM OF THE BLAZING PHOENIX COVERThis fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that the flawed heroine of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns finally meets her match. An epic fantasy finale to the Rise of the Empress novels.

Princess Jade has grown up in exile, hidden away in a monastery while her stepmother, the ruthless Xifeng, rules as empress of Feng Lu. But the empire is in distress and its people are sinking into poverty and despair. Even though Jade doesn’t want the crown, she knows she is the only one who can dethrone the empress and set the world right. Ready to reclaim her place as rightful heir, Jade embarks on a quest to raise the Dragon Lords and defeat Xifeng and the Serpent God once and for all. But will the same darkness that took Xifeng take Jade, too? Or will she find the strength within to save herself, her friends, and her empire?

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with breathtaking pain and beauty, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is filled with dazzling magic, powerful prose, and characters readers won’t soon forget.

Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen, and The Wrath and the Dawn will hungrily devour this page-turning read.bbbbb

NATIONAL BOOKSTORE | AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | KOBO | IBOOKS | BOOK DEPOSITORY


REVIEW

Disclaimer: An E-ARC copy of the book has been provided in this blog tour in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Rafael of The Royal Polar Bear Reads and Erika of The Nocturnal Fey for giving me the chance to participate. Also, thank you Penguin Random House International for making this blog tour possible. None of these affected my criticism of the book in any way. Every opinion are mine and mine alone.

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix (KoBP) is an amazing sequel to Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (FoTL). Although a sequel, this book can be read as a standalone or an entirely separate book from FoTL.

It is definitely a book that suits someone like me. I am not a strong and vocal advocate of feminism and equality, but I do support those values, and this book really showcases both.

A strong defining characteristic of the book is how it empowers women, of how it tells us that women can do anything they wish for; that if they wished, they can light the whole world. There is also a representation of social equality in which we can see from how the book treats little people.

Remembering all this key-points and lessons I’ve learned from this book makes my heart warm and my eyes tear-up. It is unimaginable how truly marvelous the characters are and it is equally stunning how Julie C. Dao writes.

Julie C. Dao is an amazing story-teller. Her writing really captivates the reader and leaves you wanting for more. I have not read plenty of Asian writers, but I can definitely vouch for her.

RATING

4 skulls


BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE

November 5th
Erika – The Nocturnal Fey (Review)
Rafael – The Royal Polar Bear Reads (Review)
Soleil – Queen Soleil (Review)

November 6th
Jennilyn – Rurouni Jenni Reads (Review)
Erica Mae – Living a Hundred Lives (Review)
Jen – Jen D Bibliophile (Promo post)

November 7th
Camille – Camillea Reads (Review)
Bianca – The Ultimate Fangirl (Review)
Vivian – Vanilla Angel Pages (Promo post)

November 8th
Myrth – Cliste Bella (Review)
Jenny – Levicorpvs Blog (Review)
Dani – dmcireads (Promo post)

November 9th
Shaine – Wanderer in Neverland (Review)
Leslie – Bibliophilekid (Review)

November 10th
Joel – Descendant of Poseidon Reads (Review)
Jon – Wander with Jon (Review)
Karina – Afire Pages (Promo Post)

JOIN THE GIVEAWAY HERE


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

JULIE CJulie C. Dao (www.juliedao.com) is a proud Vietnamese-American who was born in upstate New York. She studied medicine in college, but came to realize blood and needles were her Kryptonite. By day, she worked in science news and research; by night, she wrote books about heroines unafraid to fight for their dreams, which inspired her to follow her passion of becoming a published author. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is her debut novel. Julie lives in New England. Follow her on Twitter @jules_writes.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | TWITTER GOODREADS

Advertisements

3 Replies to “BOOK REVIEW: KINGDOM OF THE BLAZING PHOENIX BY JULIE C. DAO + GIVEAWAY”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s